How Does It Feel To Get Your Week?

It’s an interesting feeling when Congress passes that a week for the disease you have been diagnosed with will be set aside to recognize the disease and the people who deal with it. As I think about this, I find myself doing some thinking.  

It is so easy to get wrapped up in the fact that you have a disease, that you forget about living. One of the things about dealing with IBD is the fact that we get caught up in the symptoms.  Even though I face very little pain at this point and time, I still have the honor of dealing with that “D” word. Let me tell you something, rather than hide, I live my life.  If I have to get up in the middle of something, so be it.  I will not let something other than God himself dictate how I live my life.  I did the same thing with my ileostomy.  Why let something like that control us?  I understand that at times it truly can be hard, but let me tell you something, there are many of us out there thriving.

It is time to quit giving the disease more credit than what is due.  If you just change your perspective on the situation, it’s crazy what can happen.  You can’t be stupid, and just go out, and act like you don’t have it completely.  You have to be smart, watch what you put in your body, and get the proper rest and exercise that you need.  When we start treating our bodies like the temple they are, it’s crazy what can happen.

Honestly, how does it feel for me to get my week? It makes me feel angry.  Angry that I would even need a week. I don’t know about you guys, all I know is I’m taking control, and no longer giving anymore credit to it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

