With enough faith you can conquer anything

One thing that I have learned while having Crohn’s Disease is that it will test your faith.  Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is the confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” That word “hope” does not mean “wish”.  It is an expectation that we know God will do what He says he will do.  So often people wonder how a person who has a chronic disease can go through it, and not complain about it.  The answer is simple. I serve a God who is bigger than my disease.  I serve a God who cares enough about me that he calls me HIS child, and not just a child.

Let me tell you one scripture that I live by.  In John 9 Jesus is with his disciples, and they come upon a blind man.  The disciples ask him who sinned in his family that caused him to be blind. Jesus states that no one did, but that he was blind so that the works of God might be displayed in him. Immediately the blind man is healed. Why do I go through each day with a smile on my face, even when I was in the hospital ultimately battling for my life? That is why, so that you might see how awesome our God is.

Most people who go through a major surgery are in pain for weeks.  I was never in pain.  The nurses commented on the fact that I barely used my pain pump.  I did not get the prescription for my pain meds filled, after the first surgery, and only took one pill the second due to a tooth ache.  Yes I have a high pain tolerance, but I do not think that has anything to do with it.  I serve a powerful God who was showing how awesome He is.

I am an ordinary man.  However, an ordinary man can become extraordinary when he is being used by God.  Over a year ago, I was inches from death.  Now, I am thriving with a disease that most people who have it are suffering from.  Why?  Because the God I serve is bigger than my disease.  How big is the God you serve?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

